Hello NBA, My New Friend

This weekend will be our second weekend without football in the past four months. No, I don’t count the Pro Bowl as football. Did you watch that game? But seriously, how are we going to cope without football? Especially considering the fact that we don’t know when it will be back. But that’s a depressing topic that I’d rather not get into right now.

Let’s take a look at our other options. NBA, NHL, and college basketball. I love the three pointer but I can’t get myself excited about college basketball until March and I don’t live in Canada so that rules out hockey. That leaves me with the NBA, so I guess that I need to just dive in.

Since I don’t have a favorite team, we’ll take a look at a few teams that I really like. For this year at least. Keep in mind that I have a thing for the underdog. Remember, I’m a Lions fan.

In no particular order, here are the teams that I’ll be following:

1. Phoenix Suns

Steve. Nash. Do I need to say more? That man is amazing and it’s just ridiculous that he can play at this high of a level at that age. The Suns aren’t out of the playoffs just yet but it isn’t looking good. They’ll always have a chance with Nash running the offense but it will be difficult for them to break .500. If only they were in the East. Plus, they have Jared Dudley and he’s my favorite athlete to follow on Twitter (@JaredDudley619).

Nash with Dirk and Mark Cuban. I bet they wish this picture disappeared.

2. LA Clippers

Before the start of last season I decided I was going to follow the NBA more. I figured that it would be easier to do if I had a favorite team. Going with my underdog thing, I picked the Clippers (Ask Keenan, he’ll back me up. If he ever posts…). They’re young, they’ve had a history of losing and they have Blake Griffin. Then I remembered that the Clippers are cursed and, well, suck. Griffin went down and the season was just like all their others. This year is different. They are the “hot” team right now and Griffin is just a beast. He is ridiculously entertaining to watch, but I don’t need to be telling you this. You know. Unfortunately they have less than a 1% chance of making the playoffs this year.

Poor Mozgov

3. New Orleans Hornets

I love the assist. Nothing is better than a flashy pass in my opinion. Okay, nothing except for a Griffin dunk. Chris Paul ranks just behind Steve Nash in my list of favorite players. However, I will admit that my main interest in the Hornets is because of the rumors they could be headed to Seattle. Fingers crossed.

I can dream, right?

4. Minnesota Timberwolves

So they have no chance at the playoffs. But it’s Kevin Love! A non-European, white basketball player? That’s actually good? Yes please! But it’s not just Love, I always enjoy a good comeback story and that’s exactly what Beasley is. No one wanted him and Miami had to practically beg Minnesota to take him. I’m thinking that a few more teams would be interested in him now.

FREE KEVIN LOVE!

5. New York Knicks

I loved Stat when he played with the Suns. I love Stat now that he plays for the Knicks. I don’t know who is to blame for him leaving Phoenix but I think that we can all agree that he belongs in New York. However, if they manage to get Melo, they will immediately fall out of this list.

“Big lights will inspire you, let’s hear it for New York.”

6. Chicago Bulls

I need a team to root for in the playoffs that actually has a chance. The Bulls are that team. They have a legitimate chance of making a run for the Finals as they have the ability to take down the Celtics or the Heat. It looks like Noah will be back right after the All-Star break and with how well Rose has been playing, they’re going to be fun to watch.

MVP?

While there are plenty of teams that I dislike (Lakers, Celtics, Heat, Spurs, etc.) there is one team that I’m just tired of. That team? The Denver Nuggets.

I have to start by saying sorry to my Denver friends, it’s not you, it’s him. By him, I mean Carmelo Anthony. I’m tired of hearing/reading about him. And now here I am, being a hypocrite by writing about him. He’s put Denver in a terrible position and it’s clear that he wants out. Let him go. Send Billups with him. Build the team around Lawson. Anthony is to the Nuggets as Sammi is to Jersey Shore. We’ve had enough, no one wants to hear you anymore, just leave.

 

This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

