Weekly TV Power Rankings

I’m going to step away from sports for this post and talk about my second favorite thing in the world. Television shows.

I’ve been kicking around this idea for months now and I can’t claim it as my own. TV power rankings have been done before but I’m putting my own spin on this one. Keep in mind, these are only shows that I watch. I’m always looking for new shows, so give me suggestions! My method for ranking these shows is a super-secret, highly scientific formula. So if don’t like my rankings, don’t blame me. Blame science.

1. Justified

Raylan Givens is back. I needed me some more Timothy Olyphant (he plays Raylan, a super awesome U.S. Marshal). If you’re not watching this show, then I suggest you start. FX was smart in renewing it for a second season and the season two premier did not disappoint. It appears that Jeremy Davies (Daniel Faraday in Lost) is going to play a big role this season as the bad guy. Love it.

“Alright look, I’ve tried to be reasonable. You give me your word in ten seconds or I shoot you in the head.”

2. The Office

If not for the return of Justified, The Office would have taken the top spot this week. I’ve been disappointed with the series lately (especially last season) but this episode was back to the show I loved. I knew we were off to a good start with a great opening scene and I’m glad the show is including Craig Robinson more. Steve Carrell and Amy Ryan are amazing together and drunk Jim and Pam were awesome. No complaints about this episode. I’m looking forward to seeing how this season finishes up, should be really good.

“I’m not saying it won’t be hard, but we can make it work. That’s what she said.”

3. Parks and Recreation

Ron and Tammy. Fun fact: Nick Offerman (Ron Effing Swanson) and Megan Mullally (Tammy Swanson Swanson) are married in real life. Seeing Ron in cornrows was fantastic. Does anyone else think he looked a little like Kenny Powers? Unfortunately, there was a lack of Chris Pratt (Andy) in this episode, but we did hear from “Bert Macklin, FBI” again. While I did enjoy this episode, I felt a little PDA’d out considering I had just watched The Office, which was loaded with groping and kissing. But hey, it’s Valentine’s Day, right?

“I know Tammy seems scary, but really she’s just a manipulative, psychotic, library book peddling, sex-crazed she-demon.”

4. Community

Of the Thursday night comedies, Community is my favorite. After last weeks epic D&D episode, we were in for a let down. Still a decent episode thanks to Troy and Abed going after the same girl. I do hope they find the right girl someday. I thought that the Britta storyline was so-so and Jeff’s was only slightly better. Loved his dig at soccer but Chang seemed to let me down a little in this episode. I’m really curious to see where they go with Pierce. Maybe more Andy Dick?

“I’m a stylish American, I’ve been forcing myself to be into soccer since 2004.”

5. Archer

Who knew that Woodhouse is a heroin addict? “Blood Test” was a very solid episode. Basically, I’m saying that it wasn’t great but it wasn’t bad. I’m not a big fan of ODIN and hope they don’t stick around for too long. The twist at the end involving the liter of blood makes the whole episode worth watching though.

“Is that a friggin’ candy bar?”

6. 30 Rock

It just isn’t as good as it used to be. And I don’t mean that in a hipster “I liked 30 Rock when it was on vinyl” way. Tina Fey, Alec Baldwin, and Tracey Morgan are all still great but something is missing. I do love Matt Damon as Carol, Liz’s pilot boyfriend, but the whole scene on the airplane wasn’t very funny. Especially when it looks like that was the send-off for Carol. The episode wasn’t all bad though. Avery and Jack desperately trying to get out of Canada so that their child wouldn’t be a Canadian citizen was fantastic. Making fun of Canada is always funny.

“Yes my daughter is Canadian-American, but I’m going to treat her just like a human baby.”

 

This entry was posted in Television and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

