TV Power Rankings – Week of 2/20/11

Thursday was a big night for a certain pop star, I just can’t figure out if his name is Justin “Bee-eye-ber” or Justice Beaver. Sadly, this week was the end of February Sweeps. What does that mean? I have no idea. Except that there won’t be a new episodes for some of our favorite shows next week. Community, Parks and Recreation, The Office, and 30 Rock are all taking a few weeks off and won’t be back until March 17th. Hopefully I can find a few other shows to fit in during the down period. Jersey Shore anyone?

Anyway, I know you’ve been waiting on these rankings all week so here they are:

1. 30 Rock – TGS Hates Women (PW: 2)

NBC – Thursday @ 10pm

While most other shows weren’t at their best this week, 30 Rock was and started off with a great opening scene. Liz trying to handle the “TGS Hates Women” issue by bringing in guest writer Abby Flynn had it’s funny moments but Abby was basically Cerie 2.0. Don’t get me wrong, I still really enjoyed that storyline. But Jack taking on a 14-year-old girl? That was the highlight. We all know that Jack wants to run Kabletown one day and he won’t let anyone get in his way, especially not Kailey Hooper. Watching Jack reminisce on the museum tour and then confront Kailey at her school was Jack at his finest. I hope we get more her in the future.

"What most people don't know is that NBC is still a network."

2. Parks and Recreation – Indianapolis (PW: 5)

NBC – Thursday @ 9:30pm

April and Andy did not disappoint in their first episode as a couple. Their contest to see who could get the most free stuff was perfect and I could have watched a whole episode around just that. I’m hoping Chris (Rob Lowe) doesn’t spend too much time in Indianapolis because he works so well with the rest of the cast. I loved Leslie trying to determine whether or not he was seeing someone else. Of course Chris would have a ladies razor in his bathroom. And Ron, I hope those bacon and eggs were good.

"I kinda forgot you need money when you have a girlfriend. I want to treat April like a queen, and queens deserve flowers and massages, chocolate, booze, diamond, rubies emeralds, treasure chests full of scarves, different kinds of lubes that warm up when you rub 'em on stuff."

3. Justified – The I of the Storm (PW: 3)

FX – Wednesday @ 10pm

Boyd Crowder (Walton Goggins) is just fascinating. You never know what he’s going to do next and it’s impossible to tell if he’s actually changed. Dewey Crowe, however, is just as dumb as always. Impersonating Raylan to steal prescription drugs probably wasn’t his most intelligent decision either. But as crazy as Dewey was, it was nice to spend some quality time with Boyd. And what a final scene that was for him. It was an all around good episode. I’m not a big fan of the Ava/Winona/Raylan story but so far that hasn’t been very prominent in this season. After nothing last week, we got a little bit of Dickie Bennett (Jeremy Davies). I know that we’ll get a Jeremy Davies/Timothy Olyphant showdown at some point and I think my head might just explode.

"You know Boyd…for a guy who's supposedly changed, you sound a lot like you always did."

4. Archer – The Double Deuce (PW: 6)

FX – Thursday @ 10pm

Archer gets stuck with his son, wee baby Seamus, and it’s not a surprise to learn that the poor kid has the worst father. While under Archer’s care (if you can call it that) we saw Seamus eating shaving cream, playing with a razor and drinking alcohol. Lots of alcohol. Unfortunately for the wee one, his grandmother isn’t much better and we get answers about why Archer is the way that he is. I loved the Woodhouse backstory but the scenes with Archer and Seamus were my favorite.

"I can do baby or I can do geezer murder mystery but I can't do both!"

5. Community – NBC – Intro to Political Science (PW: 1)

Thursday @ 8pm

Maybe my expectations are too high for Community. I wasn’t impressed. The only part that I really enjoyed was Abed’s storyline because it was nice to see him involved in a romance as awkward as he is. Hopefully that is a storyline they are able to continue. Other than that, there were only a couple scenes that made me laugh (Troy “Butt Soup” Barnes and Jeff’s audition tape being the others) and overall, it was a pretty weak episode. Is it just me or is Magnitude not really that funny? Pop pop?

"And I'm Troy 'Butt Soup' Barnes. What? That's my name."

6. Californication –  The Recused (PW: 4)

Showtime – Sunday @ 9pm

Hank on a golf course was not as funny as I thought it would be. However, I do like Abby and Hank together and hope that continues. Knowing Hank, it won’t. He’s still hung up on Karen and that doesn’t appear to be changing any time soon. I like Ben and I think that deep down, Hank likes Ben and knows he’s good for Karen. But will Karen be able to get over Hank? The rest of this episode was about Marcy, Charlie and Stu’s pitch meeting and that felt a little corny. I realize that Californication is on Showtime but is that who they really needed to pitch the show to? Anyway, it was good to see Charlie doing what he does best and it was pretty obvious that Marcy was having second thoughts. Thankfully we didn’t get to see any of Charlie’s evening with #21.

"You're like a bald Benjamin Button aging in reverse. You're going to die a big, pink, quivering, Jell-O baby."

7. The Office – Todd Packer (PW: 7)

NBC – Thursday @ 9pm

With the exception of Jim pulling the drawer prank on Dwight, I was pretty disappointed. After this episode and last weeks, I’m starting to see a trend of Holly steering Michael away from the things he once found cool. It’s obvious that this season is going to be about Michael saying goodbye and not leaving any loose ends, but most of it just hasn’t worked for me. I am happy that this appeared to be a farewell to Todd Packer because his character never really fit. It was a character that worked in the British version but didn’t make enough appearances on the U.S. version to work the same way. The desk drawer prank seemed to be the old Jim and I wish we had more of that.

"Packer is going to be here 'til the day he dies, just like the rest of us."

This entry was posted in Television and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

