TV Power Rankings – Week of 4/10/11

Busy week in TV and I’ve got a lot of shows to cover so I’ll keep all of this fairly brief. There is another show premiering this week that I’m highly recommending. Remember the last time I recommended a show to you? No? Well it was two weeks ago and it was The Killing. Yeah. And if you’ve watched it, you know that it was a fantastic recommendation. This week’s recommendation is for an HBO show that’s premiering Sunday night at 9pm. On Sunday, HBO is launching their newest series, Game of Thrones. I can’t tell you how excited I am for it. If you have HBO, start watching this series and check in next week for my review.

Now to this week’s business, the rankings:

1. Parks and Recreation – Fancy Party (PW: NR)

NBC – Thursday @ 9:30pm

Finally, the NBC comedies are back. Parks and Recreation was very strong this week. I loved seeing Andy and April get married and while some series struggle after a marriage (*cough*The Office*cough*), that doesn’t appear to be the case for this one. Even though fans got their satisfaction with the Andy and April wedding, there is still plenty of tension between Ben and Leslie and I think this week made it pretty clear that they’re the new “couple that clearly has feelings for one another but doesn’t act on them.” Every show has to have one of those.

“I guess I kind of hate most things. But I never really seem to hate you. So I want to spend the rest of my life with you, is that cool?”

2. The Office – Training Day (PW: NR)

NBC – Thursday @ 9pm

Will Ferrell did not disappoint. Are we surprised? He really seemed to bring out the best in Steve Carrell too as their interactions were hilarious. I do think we are in for a big disappointment when Carrell’s replacement is named. No one is going to be as funny as Will Ferrell was this week. But back to happy thoughts! I had way too many great quotes to choose from. Some runners-up were: “Everyone I know who skis is dead.”, “Colorado, the Sunshine State.”, and “If you’re gonna go whale watching on the east coast, you might wanna bring a magazine called ‘West Coast Whales.’” But check the caption for the best quote of the eveing.

“Hey Deangelo, what do you think of bald people? I hate them.”

3. The Killing – El Diablo (PW: 1)

AMC – Sunday @ 7pm

Not as impressive as the premiere but still fantastic. Again, if you’re not watching this show, you should start. I’ve been recommending it to everyone and their grandmothers. Speaking of grandmothers, mine sent me a text this week thanking me for introducing her to this series. I’m not sure what that says about The Killing or if it’s supposed to help my case. Regardless, get on it. Also, yes, my grandma does text. And you thought old people driving was scary.

“Relax Mom, it’s NarcScent. Smells like weed, tastes like weed, it’s not weed.”

4. Justified – Debts and Accounts (PW: 2)

FX – Wednesday @ 10pm

I was prepared to drop Justified way down in my rankings this week. The first half hour was pretty uneventful and I was almost bored. It felt like it was a set up episode, just getting a few storylines in place for the last couple episodes. But I should know by now not to doubt Justified. With an interesting shootout and Boyd’s rise to power again, this episode did more than move characters into position for their place at the end of the season. I’m pretty confident that we’re going to get a good ending.

“My name is Boyd Crowder. You can come after me if you want but it will be the last thing you ever do, I promise you that.”

5. Archer – White Nights (PW: 3)

FX – Thursday @ 10pm

Archer has been giving us a lesson in geography! This week took us to Russia, the perfect place for a spy show. Archer tried to take on the assignment alone but ended up needing the help of his nemesis Barry. Sadly, season two is coming to an end as next week is the finale. I didn’t think Archer could get any better after the amazing first season but season two definitely proved me wrong.

“So I can’t stay for dinner. I assume that smell is cabbage and not just you two.”

6. United States of Tara – The Full F*** You Finger (PW: 4)

Showtime – Monday @ 10:30pm

Unfortunate timing. Show writer Diablo Cody issued an apology regarding this episode. Kate’s storyline involved an earthquake in Japan and there was nothing they could do to write around it. The episode was written and filmed months ago, well before the tragedy in Japan. It appeared that they were able to edit it down enough to where they didn’t appear insensitive. The whole episode seemed to be about Kate leaving so it felt pretty bland due to all of the changes they had to make. Even though it was a weaker episode, I am still happy that Kate isn’t being written off the show! Also, I hope they revisit Max’s mom’s house, which looked like something off that show Hoarders.

"I am sorry I wont be there to see you tear open your moms junk."

7. Community – Competitive Wine Tasting (PW: NR)

NBC – Thursday @ 8pm

Again, Community falls victim to my unrealistic expectations. I enjoyed this episode but definitely didn’t feel like it was their strongest. It didn’t help that they brought in Stephen Tobolowsky for a role as the professor of Abed’s “Who’s the Boss?” class. I love Tobolowsky but felt that the Abed storyline wasn’t nearly as funny as it could have been. I expected extra great things with him being involved. Community is always good but this week could have been better.

“I’m auditioning for Professor Garrity’s all-black production of ‘Fiddler on the Roof.’ It’s called ‘Fiddlah, Please!’”

8. 30 Rock – I Heart Connecticut (PW: NR)

NBC – Thursday @ 10pm

So that took long enough. Tracey is finally back. I really didn’t enjoy Frank’s storyline but maybe it’s just because I’ve never had lunch from Ikea. Actually, 30 Rock has been only decent for a while now. Not that I’m going to give up on it. Come on, I was the one person that watched Heroes into the fourth season!

“We produce more failed pilots than the French Air Force.”

9. The Borgias – The Moor (PW: 5)

Showtime – Sunday  @ 7pm

This episode wasn’t terrible, but I’m still not to the point where I’m recommending it to anyone. It did feel like we got a lot of the same from the first two episodes but I could never get tired of watching Micheletto, the assassin, do his thing. It’s like what Assassin’s Creed would be if they turned it into a TV show. Wait, why has no one thought of this? Let’s spin Micheletto’s character off into his own assassin-type show and everyone will be happy. At least I will be.

“Most things in life prove to be sad, sis.”

10. The Amazing Race – You Don’t Get Paid Unless You Win (PW: NR)

CBS – Sunday @ 8pm

More crazy driving in India. I never get tired of it. However, I’m starting to get tired of this show. This episode just lacked any drama or anything very interesting for that matter. It seems like they got lazy with their choice in destinations too. Maybe I’m wrong, but in the past, the teams have traveled all over the place and it seemed pretty rare to get more than one episode in each location. It feels like we’ve spent the whole season in China or India and I’m ready for them to get moving.

“In the states, the only time people drive like this is when they’ve got a helicopter over head and three or four police cars behind them.”

This entry was posted in Television and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

