TV Power Rankings – Week of 4/17/11

Keeping it brief again this week as I’ve got eleven shows to get through. If you need another show to watch this week (I know I do!), then check out Treme on HBO. The second season premieres Sunday at 10pm.

Now on to the rankings:

1. Game of Thrones – Winter is Coming (PW: NR)

HBO – Sunday @ 9pm

The newcomer takes the top spot. I read that Game of Thrones would do for fantasy what The Wire did for cop dramas. That’s all it took. I was in. The premiere lived up to my expectations. Actually, the opening scene had me hooked. To be honest, I haven’t read the books. But that won’t stop me from loving this series.

“He won’t be a boy forever. And, winter is coming.”

2. The Office – Michael’s Last Dundies (PW: 2)

NBC – Thursday @ 9pm

I can neither confirm nor deny that this episode brought tears to my eyes. How amazing was their parody of Rent? It’s unfortunate The Office didn’t get really good until they started the “Michael Scott Farewell Tour,” but I’m not complaining. I’m enjoying these episodes and I’m excited to see what they have for us at the end of the season. Did anyone else hear that Jim Carey rumor?

3. Community – Paradigms of Human Memory (PW: 7)

NBC – Thursday @ 8pm

Community and I have a very special relationship. They know what I like and what I don’t like. Specifically, clip shows. I hate them. When The Office pulled that crap earlier in the year, I wanted to set my TV on fire. Community knows how to make fun of a clip show. I loved how their version consisted of entirely new clips. Just another example of the genius of Community.

“Stop being meta. Stop taking everything we do and shoving it up its own ass.”

4. The Killing – A Soundless Echo (PW: 3)

AMC – Sunday @ 7pm

Don’t look at the slight drop in the rankings as a reason not to watch The Killing. I’m still saying that it’s my favorite show on TV right now because of the suspense. Every episode leaves me wanting just another ten minutes. I really don’t know what to expect from it either. Following Dwight Shrute’s logic, I’m guessing that the killer is Rose’s friend, Sterling. Dwight says that it’s not the person you most suspect or the person you least suspect. It’s the one in the middle. Because I most medium suspect Sterling, it has to be her.

*Update: I got my mom watching the show and texting me about it. If you’re not watching The Killing, I will get you.

“You don’t know her. You don’t know anything about her.”

5. Archer – Double Trouble (PW: 5)

FX – Thursday @ 10pm

In case you forgot, the humor in Archer can be very dark. The second season finale left me with my jaw dropped. No cliffhanger, just a good “wait, did that really happen” moment. I’m going to miss my weekly dose of Archer but it will be back. Season two was even better than season one. I can’t wait for season three.

“If I stop drinking all at once, I’m afraid the cumulative hangover will kill me.”

6. Justified – Full Commitment (PW: 4)

FX – Wednesday @ 10pm

Raylan isn’t very good at maintaining relationships. At this point, everyone who has ever cared about him is done with him. When he got sent out of Miami in the beginning of the series, we knew he liked to do things his own way and didn’t really care about the impact on other people. His return home introduced a lot of characters that hadn’t seen him in a while and still cared about him. We’ve seen that Raylan isn’t changing his ways and it wouldn’t be hard to see him sent to another city. I don’t think that’s where the show is going, but it is pretty clear that Raylan is all alone now.

“Listen, I gotta make a phone call that I’m not supposed to make, that if you overheard, you should report. So you wanna go outside and check the perimeter? Or do I have to pretend to take a shower?”

7. Parks and Recreation – Soul Mates (PW: 1)

NBC – Thursday @ 9:30pm

Ron and Tom were at their best this week. One of my favorite scenes was when Ron and April were in the health food store and they were “sampling” the fake bacon. Come on, it’s really not that bad! Tom was just fantastic. He managed to be at his funniest this week while also managing to be more of a jerk than we’ve ever seen from him. If you want to join Leslie and Tom in the online dating world, check out where they met: hoosiermate.com.

“Here’s mine. It’s a hamburger made out of meat on a bun with nothing. Add ketchup if you want, I couldn’t care less.”

8. United States of Tara – Wheels (PW: 6)

Showtime – Monday @ 10:30pm

This was a good episode. Definitely my favorite of the season so far. All because of what happened in the last few minutes. It seems like they’re struggling with Kate’s storyline again. I know, I can’t make up my mind. One week I’m glad she’s on the show and I’m bored with her character the next. I’m sure we all saw her wanting to become a flight attendant coming from a mile away. Still, Tara’s story was the most intriguing and her meltdown in the classroom was a nice twist.

“I am. I am in control, mostly. Sometimes.”

9. 30 Rock – 100 (PW: 8 )

NBC – Thursday @ 10pm

Congratulations to 30 Rock for making it through 100 episodes. When I saw this episode was an hour long, I actually groaned. It hasn’t been my favorite show lately and I didn’t think they could keep me entertained for an hour. Add that to the fact that it was pretty similar to the Community episode and I wasn’t impressed. I really don’t like clip shows and even though this episode had plenty of new content, it felt pretty clip showish to me.

“Jenna, are you pregnant? How? Did you go swimming in a public pool?”

10. The Amazing Race – I Cannot Deal with Your Psycho Behavior (PW: 10)

CBS – Sunday @ 8pm

Okay. I figured it out. With the exception of Kent and Vyxsin, I wouldn’t be disappointed seeing any of these teams win. Even if Kent and Vyxsin won, I would be upset like I have been in previous seasons. Basically, there is no team left that I really hate. On the other end, I really like Zev and Justin and would love to see them win, but I actually like every other team. At least a little bit. So why am I watching if I don’t really care who wins?

“If we get eliminated today, I swear to God, I’m never going to speak to you again.”

11. The Borgias – Lucrezia’s Wedding (PW: 9)

Showtime – Sunday  @ 7pm

I think I’d rather watch another hour of Sam and Ronnie. The Borgias has failed to keep me entertained. This is it’s two week notice. If it doesn’t get better in the next two weeks, I’m out.

“All things are permissible in our dreams.”

This entry was posted in Television and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

