Not Just Another NFL Mock Draft: Part 2

Part 1 was posted on Tuesday and covers picks 1 through 16. Check it out here.

Before we get into the second half of round one, I want to cover a couple things. First, this whole Cam Newton/Blaine Gabbert thing is starting to remind me of the Alex Smith/Aaron Rodgers draft a few years ago. I’m not saying that Gabbert is going to be Rodgers (I think he’s more Matt Ryan) but I do think Cam Newton will be Alex Smith. JaMarcus Russell, Vince Young, Alex Smith, pick your comparison, they all work.

Second, I’ve had a few questions about Jake Locker. I’ll cover my thoughts about him here because (SPOILER ALERT!) I don’t see him going in the first round, meaning he won’t make my mock draft.

He's no Andrew Luck.

So, Jake Locker. I’m a Huskies fan, I really want to see him succeed. But occasionally, I’m realistic. This is one of those rare times. Sure he has the size, arm strength, speed, etc. that you want in a QB, but he’s not ready. He still needs to develop. A lot. I know there was all that talk of him going first overall last year but I don’t buy it. No team would have drafted Locker over Bradford. Bradford was clearly ready for the NFL and the only concern was his injury. Because Locker returned to college, he didn’t go through the criticism that comes with the draft. Had teams really taken a look at him last year, they would have seen the same thing they’re seeing this year. He’s not ready. He will probably go in the late second round and have a similar career to Pat White. I hope not, but that’s what I see from Jake Locker. Please Locker, prove me wrong.

So anyway, where was I? Oh right, pick number 17:

17. New England Patriots – Mark Ingram, RB, Alabama

New England needs a running back. They’ve needed one for years. Mark Ingram is the best one in this draft and should be available unless the Dolphins grab him earlier. I don’t think they take a risk and hope he falls to 28. They’ll pick him here.

18. San Diego Chargers – Aldon Smith, DE/OLB, Missouri

Smith is all over the place. He could even go number five to the Cardinals. This would be a lights out pick for the Chargers as the could use someone to replace Shawne Merriman. Preferably someone who doesn’t have a taste for steroids.

19. New York Giants – Gabe Carimi, OT, Wisconsin

Well this is a boring pick. They need to work on their aging offensive line and they’ll take the best available. According to my draft, that would be Carimi. Done.

20. Tampa Bay Buccaneers – Jimmy Smith, CB, Colorado

The Buccaneers are really good at evaluating talent. Drafting Josh Freeman and Mike Williams and then signing LeGarrette Blount were all very smart moves. Because they did make a mistake by picking Aqib Talib a few years ago, they’ll correct that by grabbing Jimmy Smith here.

Wait, wrong Jimmy Smith.

21. Kansas City Chiefs – Nate Solder, OT, Colorado

Back-to-back Buffaloes being taken in the first round! The only good player I can think of that came out of Colorado was Kordell Stewart. Oh wait, I said good, right? Never mind, I can’t think of any.

22. Indianapolis Colts – Derek Sherrod, OT, Mississippi State

Okay, let’s be honest. The Colts are not a very good team. If you replace Peyton Manning with Mark Sanchez, they’d be lucky to win a couple games. What I’m trying to say is that any player is going to be a good pick at this point because they have needs at every position. Why not try to improve that offensive line to get a couple more years out of everyone’s favorite commercial star?

23. Philadelphia Eagles – Aaron Williams, CB, Texas

Everyone has Philly taking Jimmy Smith here but if you’ve been following along, he’s going to be enjoying the sun in Tampa. They have a need at cornerback so I’ll say they take the best available here.

24. New Orleans Saints – Corey Liuget, DT, Illinois

We all know that the Saints don’t need any help on offense. They could however, use a few guys that can make a tackle or two. Any defensive player would help at this point and Liuget should be able to come in and help their run defense.

25. Seattle Seahawks – Danny Watkins, OG, Baylor

How did the Seahawks get this far down on the list? I recall them playing pretty poorly last year. What was that? Marshawn Lynch? Oh right, that was a pretty sweet run. Anyway, I’d like them to take Locker here and let him develop behind Hasselbeck but I just don’t see it happening. Instead, they’ll strengthen their line for whoever does become their quarterback of the future. One thing we know is that it sure won’t be Charlie Whitehurst!

26. Baltimore Ravens – Adrian Clayborn, DE, Iowa

Baltimore’s defense isn’t as good as it once was and those guys are all getting pretty old. Ayers is a possibility here but I think they’ll grab Clayborn to team up with Ngata for a pretty scary defensive line.

27. Atlanta Falcons – Ryan Kerrigan, DE, Purdue

The Falcons need another receiver to pair with Roddy White but there won’t be one worth taking at this point. Instead, they’ll work on improving the defensive line.

28. New England Patriots – Muhammad Wilkerson, DE, Temple

This draft is loaded with defensive linemen. Seriously, this is the third in a row and I can’t think of anything else to say about them at this point. I do think that the Patriots will use the pick they got from the Raiders for Ingram and then draft a player that replaces Seymour here. Pretty good trade for the Patriots.

29. Chicago Bears – Andy Dalton, QB, TCU

Might as well start looking to the future, right? Did I mention that I hate Jay Cutler? (For what it’s worth, there is no way they take Dalton here.)

I looked up douchebag in the dictionary and this is the image that came up.

30. New York Jets – Phil Taylor, DT, Baylor

Yeah, that Kris Jenkins signing worked out for them. The Jets have a great defense but could use some help at defensive tackle or safety. Taylor should be able to handle the middle and free up the Jet’s linebackers. Something they thought Jenkins could do.

31. Pittsburgh Steelers – Akeem Ayers, OLB, UCLA

As much as I love to hate them, the Steelers are another team that always seems to draft well. If Ayers makes it this far, he’d be a great pick for them and become another guy that I have to start hating.

32. Green Bay Packers  – Brandon Harris, CB, Miami (FL)

It wouldn’t be a real NFL draft without a Hurricane going in the first round. Ideally, the Packers would want to go offensive line here but there’s not really anything left.

Okay, I’m done. It may not have been great but at least it was better than Mel Kiper. No one really likes him, right?

This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

