The End of an Era

Two things: this post is about Harry Potter and I will be discussing the last movie. If you haven’t seen it or don’t know how it ends, you might not want to read this. If you don’t like Harry Potter, please leave now, I have nothing more to say to you.

Now that we have that out of the way, let’s talk Potter. 13 years ago, I started the first book and began a journey that officially ended at 2:20am on Friday, July 15th, 2011. Done. Over. No more Potter. If you were at any theater around the country last night, you know that I was not alone. But that mobs of nerds waiting at every theater did not mean that the movie was going to be good. No matter what, Potter fans were going to be there and this movie was going to be huge. Luckily for us, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 was perfect.

Voldemort. That's right, I said it.

I used to criticize every Potter movie and get irrationally angry when the slightest thing was changed for the movie. “Why aren’t they wearing their robes?” I once thought after the third movie. It pissed me off, but it shouldn’t have. Eventually, I decided to look at the movies as a separate experience from reading the books. The movies won’t be identical to the books and after I accepted that, I could enjoy the movies for what they are.

With that said, Harry Potter’s time on the big screen ended better than I could have hoped. It was easily the best movie of the series. It went straight into the action and didn’t slow down until Voldemort was dead. Sadly, I even slightly enjoyed the “19 years later.” How could you not enjoy Draco’s ridiculous facial hair and Ron putting on an extra 20-30 pounds?

Love the facial hair.

Slowly I am coming to terms with this being over. Thanks for the memories J.K. I’m sure everyone has seen this quote over the past few days but I’m going to leave you with it anyway:

‎”Harry Potter is about confronting fears, finding inner strength and doing what is right in the face of adversity. Twilight is about how important it is to have a boyfriend.”
-Stephen King

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

