Movies and Mariners

I have a couple shelves full of movies that I never watch. I’m not one to buy movies. I have to really like a movie before I make the decision to buy it. However, after buying a movie, I usually find that it wasn’t as good as I thought it was. And now I have a couple shelves full of movies that I like, but don’t love. Most of those movies I don’t have much interest in watching again. I was trying to find a movie to watch when it hit me. My movie collection resembles the 2012 Seattle Mariners.

1. Miguel Olivo – Garden State

This was the first connection I made. Of all the movies in my collection, Garden State is one of them. Just like of all the Seattle Mariners, Miguel Olivo is one of them. There is nothing special about either one of them and at one time I really liked both. Now, I just stash Garden State on the bottom of the shelf and hope no one notices it’s there. Garden State doesn’t draw walks either.

2. Felix Hernandez – Kill Bill 1 & 2

The first Kill Bill, much like most of King Felix’s career so far, was all action. And it was awesome. Must like Felix’s career has been. The second Kill Bill dove deeper into story and made you appreciate the first movie that much more. Basically, Felix is just going to get better.

3. Chone Figgins – Atonement (on HD DVD)

Back when HD DVD was still a thing, I jumped on that bandwagon instead of Blu-ray. Whoops. Anyway, the first movie I bought on HD DVD was Atonement. I don’t remember why, but I thought I would enjoy it. It seemed like the best possible deciscion at the time. Now I’m stuck with it. I paid good money for it, so I have to keep it around. But unlike Chone Figgins, Atonement has an almost naked Kiera Knightly.

And you thought I was going to say Shrek for Figgins. He does look like Donkey.

4. Ichiro – The Usual Suspects

The Usual Suspects never gets old. Until you realize it does. The first time I saw it, the twist ending blew me away. There was nothing like it! But now it’s just another movie and not anything special. And that makes me sad.

5.  Franklin Gutierrez – Fight Club

Fight Club is an awesome movie. But my copy is broken in half.

6. Dustin Ackley – I Love You, Man

I love Dustin Ackley… Man. He’s still fairly new to the team and already a guy Mariners fans can count on. This is exactly what I Love You, Man brings to my movie collection. It’s my most recent movie and I can always count on it to make me laugh. Hopefully Ackley will continue to hit.

7.  Justin Smoak – The Bourne Identity

Smoak is exciting. Or at least can be exciting. We just don’t know what to expect from him. He could hit anywhere between .250 and .290 with 15-30 home runs and I wouldn’t be surprised. But the real reason Smoak is The Bourne Identity is that Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje is in that movie. If you’re a fan of Lost, you would recognize Akinnuoye-Agbaje as Mr. Eko. Mr. Eko went head-to-head with the Smoke Monster. And yes, I’m still hanging onto the Smoak Monster nickname.

The Smoke Monster, not to be confused with the Smoak Monster.

8. Alex Liddi – The Italian Job

No, this isn’t just because Alex Liddi is Italian…. Okay fine, it is.

This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

